2020 awards


​Congratulations to the 2020 Showcase Awards for Excellence in Schools state winners and finalists.

State winners were announced during the online streaming broadcast presentation on Monday 14 September 2020.


 State winners and finalists

The Network 10 Showcase Award for Excellence in the Early and Primary Years

State winner:
Berrinba East State School, Building children’s oral language through connections—Kindergarten to Prep Transition

State finalist:
Townsville Community Learning Centre—A State Special School, All of us: A reading journey

The QSuper Showcase Award for Excellence in the Secondary Years

State winner:
Maroochydore State High School, Experts in curriculum, mastery in the classroom

State finalist:
Beenleigh State High School, Beenleigh READiness—rise through reading

The CQUniversity Australia Showcase Award for Excellence in Inclusive Education

State winner:
Caboolture State High School, Building literate futures

State finalists:
Taranganba State School, Taranganba State School—Collaboratively building an inclusive school environment
Browns Plains State High School, Supporting diverse learning needs

The RemServ Showcase Award for Excellence in Parent and Community Engagement

State winner:
Laidley District State School, Connecting community together

State finalist:
Maleny State High School, Maleny State High Flexi School—choices chances changes

The Education Queensland International Showcase Award for Excellence in Global Engagement

State winner:
Kirwan State High School, A Deliberate commitment to global citizenship

State finalist:
Kawana Waters State College, Broadening cultural perspectives

The Queensland Teachers’ Union Showcase Award for Excellence in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education

State winner:
Heatley Secondary College, Heatley State School, Kirwan State High School, Mornington Island State School, Northern Beaches State High School, Spinifex State College—Mount Isa—Junior Campus, Thuringowa State High School, William Ross State High School, Wulguru State School, Townsville State High School and Pimlico State High School, People, culture and country

State finalist:
Woree State High School, Junior Indigenous Marine and Environmental Cadets program (JIME)

The Teachers Mutual Bank Showcase Award for Excellence in Rural and Remote Education

State winner:
Pormpuraaw State School, Effectively transitioning primary students into high school

State finalist:
Charleville School of Distance Education, Longreach School of Distance Education and Mount Isa School of the Air, The Western Alliance

The TUH Health Fund Showcase Award for Excellence in Teaching

State winner:
Katrina Holewa, Noosa District State High School

State finalist:
Vanessa Johnson, Cairns State High School

The Griffith University Jack Pizzey Award for Excellence in School Leadership

State winner:
Matthew O'Hanlon, Beenleigh State High School

State finalist:
David Saxton, Glenvale State School

The Bevan Brennan ‘Every Child Needs a Champion’ Award

State winner:
Caboolture East State School, HERO program

State finalist:
Yeronga State High School, A school team with a champion for every learner

 Regional award recipients

Last updated 15 September 2020